top of page
Symbolon Image.jpg

The Sacraments

We now move on to the second segment of Symbolon, Living the Faith, which will bring us within weeks of the Easter Vigil.  We will be delving deeper into the Catholic faith starting with the Sacraments.


The Catechism of the Catholic Church tells us:


1210 Christ instituted the sacraments of the new law. There

are seven: Baptism, Confirmation (or Chrismation), the

Eucharist, Penance, the Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders

and Matrimony. The seven sacraments touch all the stages

and all the important moments of Christian life:1 they give

birth and increase, healing and mission to the Christian's

life of faith. There is thus a certain resemblance between the

stages of natural life and the stages of the spiritual life.


Below are a few videos that will help you get your feet wet on what a Sacrament is and what it is not.


A simplified introduction to the Sacraments can be found here (about 3 minutes):


Now a little deeper.... (about 5 minutes)

and deeper still....(about 7 minutes)


Finally, here is the handout for this session        and a link to the Symbolon video:

bottom of page